Minha Carta para a Host Family

3 mar

Gente, como prometido aqui está a carta para a host-family que foi no meu application. Lembrando que ela não é nenhum modelo perfeito, é só para ajudar quem, como eu, ficou meio sem ideias para escrever a carta da HF.

    Dear Host Family, 

My name is Victória, I’m 16 years old and I live in São Paulo, Brazil, with my parents, Celso and Érica, and my older brother, Lucas. My mother, Érica, is an architect and she’s 50 years old. She’s very friendly, talkative and hard-working. My father’s name is Celso and he;s funny, sensible and sometimes strict. He’s an engineer and 54 years old. My parents, both of them, work at Santo André’s City Hall, which is in a city near by. My brother, Lucas, is only one year older than me and he drives me completely crazy! But I do love him. He loves animes and anything related to cars. Eventhough, he lives with my grandmother ( which is not far from home at all) and not with us, we have a dog named Arfie. Arfie’s a Dachshund and he’s the cutest thing ever! Reading is one of my passions and some of my favorite books are ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zuzak, ‘The Invention Of Hugo Cabret’ by Brian Selznick, ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen and The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. I also enjoy watching TV and Web series, like ‘CSI’, ‘Friends’ or ‘The Lizzie Bennet’s Diaries’. It’s been 4 years since I started playing volleyball at school and I love it! It’s true that I’m only an okay player but joining the school’s volleyball team was one of the best decisions of my life. When my friends and I go out, we usually go to the movies, shopping malls, parks, sports competitions or sleep overs. My parents are really easygoing about me going out with my friends, but I always tell them where and with who I am going and ask for their permission. The majority of my friends are from school. I study at Instituto Federal de São Paulo, which is a school for high schoolers, undergrads and grad students. In Brazil, we can’t choose the subjects we study at school, so, sometimes we take some classes that are … not that interesting, but most of the classes are actually pretty nice. My favorite subject is Portuguese Language, because I really like reading, writing and, hopefully, someday I’ll become a journalist or a writer. On an average week day, I wake up at 6.00 a.m. and my mom gives me a ride to school. Classes start at 7.00 a.m. and end at 11.45 a.m. After school, I take the bus to come home, do my homework, study read, watch some movie etc. Twice a week, I attend English classes at Associação Alumni and three times a week, there’s volleyball practice (yeah!). At home, my brother and I are not responsible for a lot of chores. Actually, we just have to keep our bedrooms organized and, sometimes, do the dishes. I admit that I am not very organized, but I am seriously working on it. My whole family loves to travel and we try to travel as much as possible. So, on holidays, such as Christmas or New Year, we go to the beach ( my mom has a house there) or to my aunt’s cabin in Riberão Pires ( which is in the country side of São Paulo). We gather with my cousins, aunts, uncles, granduncles etc … It’s always so much fun! What I expect with this exchange program is to gain cultural baggage ( I don’t know if this is a valid expression on the US, but in Brazil it means to accumulate knowledge). I want to see new things, new places, new people and to understand how they live and what they think. I want to understand what makes the US different from Brazil and what they have in common. I want experience this difference of cultures by living it. Of course that, getting fluent in English is something I’ll be looking after during my exchange program, but living the American culture is what for me matters the most. I am really excited about this exchange program and I will do my best to make this exchange program awesome for me and for my host-family as well. 

My best wishes, 

Victória Tortorelli Sampaio. 

Como ficou a carta de vocês? Esse post ajudou você a escrever a sua carta? Comente aqui embaixo!

Beijos,

Vic.

Deixe uma resposta

Seguir

Obtenha todo post novo entregue na sua caixa de entrada.